Maria News < Back

Board of Trustees Appoints Transitional Leader

Press ReleasePresident

ALBANY, NY—The Maria College Board of Trustees accepted President Dr. Lea A. Johnson’s resignation today and appointed Joseph G. Salamack III, Chair of its Board of Trustees, as transitional leader. The presidential succession process is underway.

Johnson was sworn in as Maria’s fourth and first lay president on May 16, 2012. For almost four years, she has worked diligently to transform the college into a baccalaureate institution for future growth and long term sustainability. Under her direction and consistent with the vision of the College’s founders and sponsors, the Religious Sisters of Mercy, a strategic plan, “Embracing our Potential” was written. It is providing a blueprint for the college’s offering of high demand majors while continuing to serve the Capital Region as the most affordable private college.

Salamack stated, “We have been fortunate to have President Johnson’s vast higher education experience to implement the Board’s directives by expanding the number of academic program offerings, upgrade campus facilities and technology, improve both the Board and campus governance structures and practices, and deepening the support functions of admissions, marketing and development. We are grateful for her vision and leadership.”

According to Salamack, he expects his role as transitional leader to be short. He stated, “In keeping with common practice, as Chair of the Board of Trustees, I have assumed the responsibilities of transitional leader pending Board appointment of an interim president. The search has attracted many excellent candidates. We expect to have an interim president in place very soon.”

About Maria College
Maria College is a baccalaureate nonprofit, independent, co-educational institution, founded in 1958 by the Sisters of Mercy, and is one of 16 colleges and universities in the United States sponsored by the Conference for Mercy Higher Education. The College serves traditional and non-traditional students.